moments in focus…

more flowers, not more color, just more flowers…

Here is another picture of the tulips I took earlier this week.  This one had a little different perspective and was a bit bright in color, so I decided to change it to b&w (with a very slight sepia tint).

When I think of black and white images, I can not help think of Ansel Adams and to be honest, my Father.  My Father took some beautiful pictures during his lifetime, mainly his younger years, and developed them himself.  Ansel Adams, well… I don’t think any explanation is needed.

In one of my photography books, The Photoshop Darkroom by Harold and Phyllis Davis,  they give a suggested  Channel Mixer Setting, that has been called the ‘Ansel Adams’ effect as: 160% Red, 140% Green and -200% Blue.   Even though I tell you this, I did not apply this ratio to the image you see.  Actually, I did apply it, but it did not look right, so I ‘mixed’ my own.   I have applied the ‘Ansel Adams’ effect to other b&w’s and it does look nice.

Just for comparison, here is the original:

 

“In my mind’s eye, I visualize how a particular… sight and feeling will appear on a print.  If it excites me, there is a good chance it will make a good photograph.  It is an intuitive sense, and ability that comes from a lot of practice.”  ~Ansel Adams

4 responses

  1. Interesting, thanx for the info on the Channel Mixer setting, I’ll have to try that! :D I rather like the colour one.

    02.06.2011 at 10:30 pm

    • Your welcome David, I like the one in color also, i just could not get the blacks black enough on the other (every time I tried the tulips become very dark). -Kim

      02.07.2011 at 8:40 am

  2. I actually prefer the black and white version. This is not usually the case as I love color. I really like the gradations in tones in the flowers in the black and white though.

    Your photos are inspiring!

    02.11.2011 at 11:06 pm

Leave a comment