moments in focus…

Homemade bread, fresh out of the oven….

Can you see the steam coming off the bread?  I made this brioche recipe this morning, it is actually made with whole wheat flour- it turned out very good.

You are probably thinking, Kim…I thought this was a photography blog, what is with the recipe tips?  Well, you are correct- this is primarily about photography, and believe it or not, this is too.  I like the fact that I could capture the steam, wish it showed up better, but I did not have a lot of time before the bread cooled off.  If the picture looks a bit grainy (ha- no pun intended), it’s because in my hurry to take the picture I changed my ISO to 1000! I did not want to use a flash, so that was my solution, however, it was still to dark.  I popped up the camera’s flash, put on the diffuser, and took some pictures.  So, what did I forget to do?  Should I tell you? You already know- I did not change the ISO back, hence the grainy image.

Hopefully lesson learned.

6 responses

  1. Hi Kim
    I can’t taste it, but I can see it looks great. :-D
    What recipe did you use?
    Cheers
    Pat

    02.05.2011 at 7:09 am

    • Hi Pat, I used a the Poor Man’s Brioche Recipe from the The Bread Bakers’ Apprentice. It calls for 3 3/4 cup total flour, I used 3 cups whole wheat and 3/4 cup bread flour. I was amazed it still came out light. -Kim

      02.05.2011 at 3:39 pm

  2. Yum! It looks wonderful and I can see the steam off it. I love it when you include photo tips. I’m just beginning to learn this photography stuff and it helps when others share what works or didn’t work for them.

    I think you should share the recipe as well:)

    02.05.2011 at 7:54 am

  3. Man that looks good and yes, I do see the steam! The nice thing about this photo is that subject overpowers the grain from the high’ish ISO and you “see” the subject first. (it’s early here…) :D

    02.05.2011 at 8:32 am

  4. Glad you think so (even thought it was early- I’ll take it )
    -Kim

    02.05.2011 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

