moments in focus…

Our bear…

Since moving into our new house (back in November 2012) we have seen Bear tracks on our carport several times, one of our metal bird feeders was torn apart and well, we have seen very large piles of bear poo below the house.  Of course we have been wanting to see the bear, but then again, not wanting to see him!  Each night when I let our dog (she’s 12 now & moving slowly) out for her evening potty time I always announce myself to scare any animals away.  One night, I heard something scurry down towards the back of the house, naturally I ran inside and grabbed my flashlight.  I told my husband I heard something, but I was sure it was NOT the bear, and we both stepped out on the back deck.  Well, there he was, looking up at us! He turned and walked about 20 feet and laid down! We watched him, he watched us… I guess he got bored looking at the humans, so he walked around the side of the house and up to our bird feeder next to the carport.  Being humans, we knew where he was going and beat him there.  I grabbed my camera and took a few shots.  My husband would open the door and I would take ONE step onto the carport and take ONE shot, then back in!  Eventually, I turned on the flash, the 1800 ISO just wasn’t cutting it.

So, although not the best photos, here is our bear, pretty cute:
_DSC6807_5870

_DSC6800_5863

_DSC6795_5858

5 responses

  1. Ethelyn Kuldell

    Thank you!!!!  I LOVE your blogs.  Great photos!!!

    ________________________________

    04.02.2013 at 9:00 am

    • Hi Ethelyn… glad you are still following my posts :) Hope all is well in the Lone Star State! -KIm

      04.10.2013 at 5:17 am

  2. Yes, he is cute! The last shot is funny. Nice story!

    04.10.2013 at 1:13 am

    • George, He is cute! Recently learned this is the bear with the club foot and he is a boy (don’t know how anyone knows this :)
      There are two other bears at the other end of the neighborhood, I hope they stay down there! -Kim

      04.10.2013 at 5:19 am

      • Man!! I have a fear of bears i dont know how you sleep at night knowing there is bears outside!! I have always had a fear of being around bears! :/

        04.21.2013 at 7:26 am

Leave a Reply

