moments in focus…

Conflict of interest….

Cats vs. Birds (and squirrels)

Don’t get me wrong, I love having cats…BUT… cats and birds just don’t mix.  For the past month or so I have been spending a large part of my day in the back yard (I think I mentioned this before ;) watching birds.  It has been quite an education. I have witnessed communication, nesting habits, feeding habits, mating habits, territorial fighting… oh, and let’s not forget playing habits!  Birds have such personalities, it has been fun to watch.

Below are some pictures that have been taken over the past few weeks.  Enjoy:

This was taken before the Cardinals baby was born, they would sit on the lounge chair with me and watch the birds too.

This is Heidi, she’s more interested in napping that chasing birds.

Mom Cardinal coming for dinner.

Mom, after her bath.

Mom, shaking out the water after the bath.

Bath time for Dad.

Dad, still bathing.

One baby Cardinal, two days old.

Four days old.

Six days old.

Mom was watching me take the picture on day six.

Dad is usually close by too. (Actually, he stays closer than Mom)

Dad in defense mode.  There has been another male Cardinal coming around for the past three days, Dad chases him for hours…I mean hours!  I noticed he holds his wings slightly away from his body when he feels threatened.

Meow, please let me out :(

2 responses

  1. I really enjoyed these photos especially of the baby birds :)

    05.07.2012 at 4:09 pm

    • Thank for stopping by Seasonsgirl :) It has been fun following the activity and growth of this little baby. There are a few more shots of him in a recent post. -Kim

      05.09.2012 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

