moments in focus…

To be a bird

If you could be an animal, what would you be? Well, you guessed it… I would be a bird. The idea of soaring through the sky, feeling the breeze on your… what… face? feathers?, having the freedom to travel great distances… who wouldn’t want to do that? I know, I know, it’s not always such a glamorous life for birds. And let’s not talk about what they eat! I would of course be a vegetarian bird, finding a nice old lady (not unlike myself) that fills the bird feeders and supplies plenty of fresh water in the bird bath for me and my friends. One more things, this sweet old lady would not have cats (very much unlike myself).

Lately I have been a bit under the weather and I find myself outside, sitting on my lounger. It has been cool (81 degrees for the high) and not very humid, great bird watching weather- even if it is just in my backyard. In fact, as I type this I am sitting on my lounger and I am not alone. My two cats are on the lounger too, sleeping soundly. I can also hear baby birds in my neighbor’s yard chirping for their dinner and a Woodpecker pecking a tree.

Several happenings go on in the backyard.

  • One, the Mockingbird eats the blossoms off our olive tree. He does this every year.
  • Two, the Cardinals sing to each other. This usually takes place in the morning. One male will perch high in a tree and there are two others (that I can hear) he sings to and they sing back. I have seen as many as five Cardinals flitting about in the yard at one time.
  • Three, Chickadees and Titmouse visit the feeder everyday. They hang out in an acorn tree (not sure what the real name of the tree is) in the side yard. Four to six can be found flying back and forth between feeder and tree daily.
  • Four, recently there have been a few Purple Martins flying overhead. Sometimes two, sometimes five… they fly in large circles over the house. Pretty amazing site.
  • Five, the house Wrens. These little birds have been very busy this Spring. They have already made one nest on our back porch and abandoned it and are now finishing up a new nest in our shed. They work quickly and very much as a team. It’s been fun to witness. This morning I watched as one snagged a butterfly! I had kept our cats in during the first building process, but then let them out after I realized the Wrens abandoned their nest, now that they are back.. in they go again.

Although I am stopping at five, there are more birds that visit, but not each day as the others do.

The cardinals must know I am writing about them! The male and female are both in the tree directly overhead, chirping. And they are off, first the female, then the male to follow.

 

Our Wrens

2 responses

  1. Ethelyn

    I enjoyed reading this story, Kim.

    04.13.2012 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

