moments in focus…

Studio Lighting…kit? continuous? strobe? Advice please :)

It’s that time to invest in some studio lights.  I have been researching, but I am still not sure.  I would love to hear your suggestions.

At the moment I am thinking of umbrellas (shoot through) instead of soft boxes because they seem easier to handle and do produce a similar effect.  I am also considering continuous lighting (it seems easier…am I coping out?).  I do have two (cordless) Nikon flash units- should I use those (not sure how exactly, the TTL, iTTL, guide numbers… confuse me. I could learn)?  Will strobes be better than continuous and/or my flash units? What wattage is best? What about Kelvin- 5500? Which brand is good, without breaking the bank.  Help. :)  I welcome any comments on the matter.

One more thing.  I don’t think I have ever posted a post (is that right?) without a picture.  So, I include an image of a little squirrel that comes with his friends everyday to enjoy a few (who am I kidding, they eat a lot!) sunflower seeds.

 

 

9 responses

  1. Love the picture, but am even more curious about the advice you will get here…

    03.04.2012 at 11:37 am

    • Hi Joanna, thanks for liking the little squirrel. I’m with you, curious about the advice… I hope I get some. :) -Kim

      03.04.2012 at 1:38 pm

  2. Even the best quality content could be boring if it truly is presented in a very clinical manner.
    It is, indeed, mazing hat a much more than 70% on the state is protected with trees as well as other flora.
    For example, they could rely on them for the romantic dinner in your house, per night watching TV together,
    or when they get special guests over for lunch as well as an evening together.
    So how does one maintain your blogging fresh and interesting after you spent a
    superb majority of one’s time laboring away in-front from your
    same uninspiring keyboard. But also give solutions
    and final success whereby you may show the various readers in dramatic form the best method to
    deal using your niche’s problems and tips regarding how to avoid making mistakes.

    Generally men and women are convinced that inside game of poker should
    you don’t fit your opponents that you just are guaranteed to lose badly,
    but, is the very fact that the complete truth.
    Get some popular pasta recipes and wow guests using your culinary
    skills. Men don’t want to dismissed in their freedom plus the carefree and exciting life
    of being single. Mother Nature has this sort of strategies
    taking proper proper cats. Their spending pattern was consistent while using Yuppie species trend,
    that has been always as blatant and obvious as you can.
    There an assortment of forums and websites which discuss
    exactly exactly the same. Most popular destinations include New York,
    Dubai, Amsterdam, Dublin and Hong Kong. Goods for instance clothes, baggage, souvenir
    items, shoes along with a many more could be found here.

    The time factor as well as the risks which are ramped up as
    an outcome. Lots of excitement surrounds the engagement, wedding, and honeymoon,
    but since the weeks, months, and years roll one towards the
    other, that excitement can die. I save it accessible back in add or edit it even more.
    One on the most bizarre things is the very fact that eels are drawn to the lamp and are available from around to
    mate and lay their eggs. If your girl or woman is a great deal more down-to-earth,
    it genuinely is advisable to settle on natural organic cotton robes or sensually soft silk pajamas.
    For many couples, your day-to-day demands of life are definitely the
    only things they speak about. This energy-regenerating quality may be
    utilized to refresh and heal the force of an person, room, office or entire house.
    To pick probably the most beneficial, jot down several boat names you’ve on mind before you have a very
    comprehensive list apply of. One with the biggest ways for making
    every guy fall for you personally personally is really making her see
    you just don’t ‘need’ him. Plus, they could be
    less “preachy” and much more conversational.
    However, when it absolutely was first dropped at Europe from Central America so it was considered an extra item since it had
    been still fairly rare in Europe. It much simpler to support a reader’s attention
    with shorter paragraphs.

    10.29.2013 at 2:59 pm

  3. I just like the helpful info you supply on your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and test again right here regularly.
    I’m slightly certain I’ll be informed lots of new
    stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

    11.17.2013 at 9:58 am

  4. Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time
    deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and
    I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Apologies for being
    off-topic but I had to ask!

    12.09.2013 at 7:00 am

  5. Link exchange is nothing else however it is just placing the other person’s web site link on your page at appropriate
    place and other person will also do same for you.

    03.05.2014 at 8:04 am

  6. After I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get
    four emails with the same comment. Perhaps there is a way you are able to remove me
    from that service? Thanks!

    03.25.2014 at 7:18 am

  7. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and sit up for in quest of extra of your great post.
    Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

    04.25.2014 at 4:32 pm

  8. It’s hard to come by knowledgeable people for this topic, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

    08.13.2014 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

