moments in focus…

how quickly things can change

We arrived around 2:30, it was now 7:30pm. The sun was slowly slipping away.  It was time to go home.

As I carried my beach chair to the water’s edge to wash the sand from it,  I looked up at the sky one more time.  I turned to look at my husband and he said “We can stay if you want to”.   I did.  I unfolded my chair and sat.  The sky was glowing, the water reflected the soft violet color.  It was quit spectacular (not a word I use often).

Looking out across the water and up at the sky I thought to myself how quickly the colors were changing.  The entire day the colors kept changing: blue-green, blue, blue-gray, bluish teal, slight shades of turquoise, and now violet .  Perhaps being a photographer creates a greater awareness of this (which I am thankful for, the awareness that is).

The pictures:

 

Baby baby crab!  (Below is close up)

 

reflections

rising tide

oil

pelicans

All images were taken with a Sigma DP2s

4 responses

  1. elmediat

    I like how you used the shell in the reflections and then the rising tide to show the transition in the environment – an excellent photo-essay technique. Your pelicans image captures that sense of vastness, as if nature and the sky & the horizon can go on forever. There are times, up here in Ontario, when you drive over the the hill and the view of rocks, trees & sky create exactly the same sensation.

    06.21.2011 at 11:11 pm

    • thanks for the words, one of these days I hope to get up your way and away from this heat ;) The beach is a great place to cool off in the hot summer months and an ever changing place to take pictures. -Kim

      07.04.2011 at 4:38 pm

  2. I like the perspective when you have your camera just a couple of inches off the sand. Nice work!

    07.05.2011 at 7:33 pm

Leave a Reply

