moments in focus…

signs of spring

 

Recently I purchased a  new camera, a point-and-shoot with manual settings.  It is actually surprisingly difficult to find one, probably because once a person uses a DSLR, it is hard to settle. This picture was taken with a Nikon Coolpix P7000.  This camera has manual settings (set up very similarly to my Nikon DSLR), light meter shows on the display (could not see it unless I had my reading glasses on and then it was still difficult to see the color on the bar to show the proper exposure settings), has a viewfinder (it did not seem like a real one, I’m not sure how to explain it, but I did not use it- and I prefer a viewfinder to a display), is a larger size for a point-and-shoot (which I liked).  I have used several ‘past tense’ words, yep, I returned this camera.  I wish it would have provided me with what I was looking for, but it did not.  Also, the RAW image file is not compatible with Bridge, Nikon does includes software for converting.  And it was slow slow slow when shooting in RAW, which may be the case for most of these types of cameras, I will soon find out when my next camera comes in the mail. I have ordered the SIGMA DP2s, I am crossing my fingers that it is as good as the reviews make it sound.  The Nikon had a great lens (28-100 2.8), the Sigma has a fixed lens (41mm 2.8) (both are in the 35mm equivalent).

I will post some pictures with the Sigma when is arrives.

As for the signs of spring, this picture was taken in my backyard.  I wandered around looking for something to take a picture of and saw this little purple flower in the back of the yard, not much color other that this.

 

12 responses

  1. Mike

    Did you return the Nikon? Hear good things about the sigma, looking forward to those shots!

    03.06.2011 at 5:24 pm

    • Hi Mike, yes i did return the Nikon, I was sorry to have to do it, but it just didn’t work for me. -Kim

      03.06.2011 at 9:46 pm

  2. Interesting read, I have been thinking of obtaining a P&S to carry with me pretty much all the time. Looking forward to seeing the images from the DP2.

    03.06.2011 at 9:11 pm

    • thanks David, that’s exactly why I want one, to have a camera all the time, the sigma arrives this week. Crossing my fingers:) -Kim

      03.06.2011 at 9:47 pm

  3. The P&S I have carried for a year is the Panasonic Lumix – DMC-LX3. It shoots RAW, manual or not, has a fast Leica lens, works well in low light, has image stabilizer and is just fun to have around. Looking forward to see how the Sigma works out for you.

    03.06.2011 at 10:29 pm

    • Thanks for the comments, I actually have 3 point and shoot panasonic lumix cameras and love them for what they are, P&S with no manual settings or RAW however, not sure why I didn’t look at the Panasonic more closely. The Sigma had some very good reviews, we’ll see. :) -Kim

      03.07.2011 at 1:23 pm

  4. Nice shot. I know the problem you’re getting, when you begin shooting DSLR its hard to go back to a P&S. I used the Canon S3 and S5 for years before going DSLR, and they are great bridge cameras. There are modern versions now, but I don’t think they shoot raw. If I had to get a P&S I would probably go for the Canon S95 or the G12, both shoot RAW and are billed as photographer companion cameras :-) No offense to the people at Nikon, but they make great SLRs, but terrible P&S. The Sigma on the other hand, sounds good!

    03.07.2011 at 11:34 am

    • I have to wonder who designed the coolpix I purchased, it could be a great camera. I do shoot with Nikon (D300 & D3) and love them.
      The Sigma had some pretty good reviews because of the large image sensor, time will tell. Hope to post some pictures by the end of the week. thanks for your recommendations. -Kim

      03.07.2011 at 1:26 pm

  5. Thanks for the review. I’ve been thinking about getting a Nikon P&S. Currently, I shoot with a Nikon D90 but would like to have a smaller camera with me all the time. Look forward to seeing your results from the Sigma.

    03.07.2011 at 8:09 pm

    • Hi Emily, It is nice to have a small camera to take everywhere. But, nothing beats the Nikon DSLRs ;) -Kim

      03.12.2011 at 1:36 pm

  6. I’m sorry the Nikon didn’t work out, but I’m looking forward to seeing what shots you get with the replacement.

    I still carry around my Nikon Coolpix 100 point and shoot. It doesn’t do anything fancy, and when I use it I’m forced to really think about the composition of my subject – because it’s all me and not the camera. Doesn’t shoot raw, though – and for editing, you really want raw.

    Great info!

    03.08.2011 at 12:57 am

    • Jolene, you are so right about the small p&s cameras making you think, I just commented about that elsewhere. I like the idea of doing that with the sigma. -Kim

      03.12.2011 at 1:38 pm

Leave a Reply

