moments in focus…

Solitude:

 

 

I am not sure which to address first, solitude or the pictures.  Let’s talk pictures:  I could not decide which one to post, so I posted both.  The top one is the original, the lower one I edited on picnik.com.  I think the first image represents solitude better.  So, on to solitude, which is how I am feeling now (but as you read on, you will see it’s not a bad, sad thing :). Solitude can be a time to think, reflect, just enjoy quiet time- especially if life is good, and it is good at the moment (thank you).

solitude |ˈsäləˌt(y)oōd| noun   the state or situation of being alone :

THE RIGHT WORD

Loneliness, which refers to a lack of companionship and is often associated with unhappiness, should not be confused with solitude, which is the state of being alone or cut off from all human contact

You can be in the midst of a crowd of people and still experience loneliness, but not solitude, since you are not physically alone.

Similarly, if you enjoy being alone, you can have solitude without loneliness.

 

18 responses

  1. Great post. I’ve always though solitude is as equally important as company. It’s probably why photography stuck so easy once I got into it. Being alone, out in strange areas, looking & thinking. On the pics, there is something always striking about encountering a lone tree in an open area. I would love to be there. In solitude :) I like the warmer, deeper contrast edit.

    02.21.2011 at 10:34 am

    • I agree, I think that is why I enjoy photography as well. There is something about it. thanks for commenting. -Kim

      02.26.2011 at 11:45 am

  2. I like them both but I think the first one reflects more of what you were going for. Nice work.

    02.21.2011 at 6:20 pm

  3. Very nice post Kim. I like the first one. The overall tone has more of the solitude feel to it. Except maybe the tree could use just a little bit more contrast. As for solitude, I noticed as I get older, I appreciate having it more. And there is nothing worse in life than having companion and still feel lonely.

    02.21.2011 at 9:22 pm

    • thanks Emily, as for the tree- I did climb up on a fence to try and frame in with the grass, but could not get high enough. I did not think about getting low to have it framed by the sky, I did notice that the horizon does take away from the tree. live and learn. ;) -Kim

      02.26.2011 at 11:51 am

  4. TGV

    Nice shot !! I love the first one , Btw nice lines….

    02.22.2011 at 1:56 am

  5. Karen CREVELING

    Kim, I think at first glance the first photo is solitude but looking longer the second photo better represents true solitude – the soft glow and more intense color suggests the regeneration received when one takes the time to be alone.

    02.22.2011 at 7:59 am

    • karen, it is interesting that people see so many different things in the same picture, that is what makes us all unique. I do see what you mean about the intensity of the color. -Kim

      02.26.2011 at 11:52 am

  6. Nice, I love the post! As for the photographs, I think the second is somewhat over-processed, but I do believe that the first one needs some processing, but that it stands by itself as a good photo!

    02.22.2011 at 2:10 pm

    • It was hard to process the colors and not take away from the grass, that was actually my favorite part of the picture, but I do think I could back it up a bit. thanks, Kim

      02.26.2011 at 11:54 am

  7. Great post, the first image captures me the most. I often feel solitude when out shooting, there’s just something about it I enjoy (hard to pinpoint why). :D

    02.23.2011 at 7:58 am

    • Hi David, there is something about being somewhere with your camera, it is (can be) an enriching time. -Kim

      02.26.2011 at 11:55 am

  8. Love your reflections on solitude vs lonliness. I hadn’t thought much about the differences. I love being alone with my thoughts in solitude and rarely feel lonely when I am. Of the two photos, I prefer the first for the amount of sunlight on the grass. Thanks for sharing. Jeanne

    02.24.2011 at 6:35 am

    • Jeanne, I think you said it perfectly, being alone with your thoughts, yet not feeling lonely, it is a nice place to be. thanks for writing. -Kim

      02.26.2011 at 11:58 am

  9. I like the first photo. The stark detail and neutral color provides better contrast for the tree. The various elements of the photo work nicely together ~ well done! Solitude is important to our psyche, helps us to reboot after too much overload. Nice post.

    02.24.2011 at 3:36 pm

    • Thanks Paul, it is good to have time to reboot! Good way to put it. -Kim

      02.26.2011 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

