moments in focus…

wine, wine, wine and more wine

Pictures usually come first on my blog, but today I felt the need to write about the images below before you look.  :)  Now, that doesn’t mean you won’t find a bit more blogging down below, so don’t worry (’cause I know you are).

During our winery visits i noticed what beautiful images appear when the light shines through the wine in the glass onto the table (I have more iphone images of that, I will post later, these came from my Nikon D300 with a micro 100 lens), and then my husband pointed out the reflection in the actual wine itself.  It is interesting to me that depending on the angle I take the photo, the image may be upside down or not.  I had a lot of fun taking these pictures.

Champagne

I love the way the image is distorted

 

Chardonnay  (which was great by the way, and I am not a Chardonnay drinker at all)

 

The way the light is refracted onto the table is so cool ;)

More Champagne or Champagna as Christopher Walken would say ;)

 

 

And more blogging as promised :)

The Vineyards:

My husband and I began our journey on the west side of Austin and visited #’s 10, 22, 21, 13, 23 and 20 (according to the map below) in two days (one on Friday and the other 5 on Saturday).  Of these six, one is our favorite (we actually go there several times a year), we purchased wine at three (four if you count our favorite), one was very new with good whites, and one…well, honestly I don’t have much to say about it.

Flat Creek Estate (#10): Our favorite winery, great atmosphere, they have a bistro, cheese plates, great wine  Purchased:  Malbec ( Super Texan is anther red and it is one of our favorites)   http://www.flatcreekestate.com/

Stonehouse  Vineyard (#22):  beautiful setting on the lake.  We purchased: Angela’s Wish (60% cab & 40 % shiraz) http://www.stonehousevineyard.com/

Spicewood  Vineyards (#21) : great laid back atmosphere, very relaxing.  Purchased their chardonnay.   http://www.spicewoodvineyards.com/

Texas Hills Vineyard (#23) :  The tasting room was very busy, so it took a bit of time there- the girl who was helping us was also helping 3 other people- not the way I would run things.  Personally I am not big fan of walking into a tasting room that looks like a gift shop, and unfortunately this one did. However, we did purchase a Syrah 2007.   http://www.texashillsvineyard.com/

Solaro Estate (#20) : The vineyards have been there for years, but the tasting room opened about 7 months ago (very cool architecture- large windows, lots of thick chunky wood)  We arrived just around the time they were closing, we missed the band that had a been playing all day.  There was also  bratwurst and kraut being sold by an outside vendor, and it was very tasty.  We did not purchase any wines here, we felt we had enough for one day- but will definitely return! http://www.solaroestate.com/

In the past we have also visited several of the vineyard to the north of Marble Falls, but the ones we would return to are Flat Creek, Stonehouse, Spicwood and Solaro.

 

http://www.texaswinetrail.com

 

14 responses

  1. Great images! So nice to be near vineyards! I love how detailed and informative your blog is!

    02.14.2011 at 5:25 pm

    • Glad you like the images Mimo, it is nice to be close to the vineyards. We are actually 4 hours away, but my Mom has a house 1 hour away so we can stay there. I felt very grateful all weekend, the weather was great and the days were full of fun. thanks for visiting my blog. -Kim

      02.15.2011 at 8:41 am

  2. I agree, lovely shots Kim! The third image really calls out to me, it’s like there’s an image within the image! :D

    02.15.2011 at 7:24 am

    • Morning David, the third shot is pretty cool, it is so clear (the image in the image as you say). It’s funny how we don’t see all of our own picture sometime, you mentioned seeing the image in the stem on the previous post! I didn’t even see it until you said that, I guess I was so focused on the other part of the picture I completely missed it! Glad you said something. :) -Kim

      02.15.2011 at 8:44 am

  3. Loved the images with the wine glasses…so cool. Thanks for sharing about the various wineries and the map. On my short list to visit if ever in the Austin area.

    02.15.2011 at 9:03 am

    • If you do head this way, check out the link (above the map), it lists all the wineries in the area. There are more around Fredericksburg (a small German community). -Kim

      02.17.2011 at 9:00 am

  4. Great shots, Kim! I think my favorite is the first one you posted. I’m envious of you D300 – that’s the next camera I want! It takes lovely photos. I’m also jealous of your winery tour. That sounds like it would have been a great time. :)

    02.15.2011 at 2:19 pm

    • Hi Jolene, The D300 is a great camera, I have really enjoyed having it. The wine tour was so much fun, if you are ever in Texas you should check it out :) , let me know. -Kim

      02.17.2011 at 8:50 am

  5. These are great shots. I like the way you captured the shadow and rays of light in the fourth photo – just lovely!

    02.17.2011 at 1:49 am

    • thanks for the comments, it was fun taking these- something a bit different for me. I am ready to take some more. -Kim

      02.17.2011 at 8:55 am

  6. Very creative use of distortion. I wanted to be able to say I liked one more than the others but I really can’t — they’re all great.

    02.21.2011 at 6:22 pm

    • I like the all also, I am waiting for a sunny day to take some more in my backyard. it was fun. -Kim

      02.26.2011 at 11:49 am

  7. Really enjoyed this post. Loved the different perspectives on the wine glasses. Thanks for the wine recommendations too. Hope to do a tour down there this Spring.

    02.24.2011 at 3:40 pm

    • Hope you do make it in the Spring, it is so nice that time of year. Check out the link above the map on the post, it is very useful in planning your trip. -Kim

      02.26.2011 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

