moments in focus…

More from the beach

The first image is the bridge over the inter-coastal water way, it’s the road to the beach I typically go to.  I really wanted to stop on the bridge, the fog was creating such a beautiful image, but I did not think it would be very safe, so I proceeded to the road below.

The seagulls appear to be out of focus in the second image, but are actually engulfed by the fog, they are also reflected in the sand below.

The weather is turning chilly this week in Texas, so no more beach trips for me until next week.

11 responses

  1. Intelligent fool

    The top image of the bridge I really like, I agree about the danger of stopping on it. Plus I doubt it would have looked as good as it does from below!

    02.01.2011 at 4:43 pm

    • well thanks, it was pretty cool on the top of the bridge- I did take a shot with my iphone through the windshield (but that’s just not the same). -Kim

      02.01.2011 at 8:41 pm

  2. The compositions on both of these are superb. Great dimension.

    02.01.2011 at 7:12 pm

  3. risewiththesun

    I really like the first photo. I feel like I’m so used to seeing bridges that end that it seems pretty mysterious to not see the end of the bridge.

    I’ve actually never gone to the beach when its overcast. Mainly because I think I won’t get any photos without the sky being so clear but after seeing this photos, I’m starting to think otherwise!

    How do your friends and family feel about you stopping to take photos (like on the bridge)? I only ask because when I’ve been traveling this past month with my friends, I sometime feel like I’m always stopping them to take a photos, though, they’ve been supremely patient!

    02.01.2011 at 9:25 pm

    • Hi Tana,
      Most of the pictures on my blog are taken when I am by myself. i usually leave the house after my husband has left for work and I know my 17 year old daughter is really up and getting ready in the morning, so on those days i don’t have to worry about others. However, I understand what you are talking about! I grew up with my Father stopping to take pictures all the time (in fact, once, when we were on a road trip, he stopped on the side of the highway to take a picture of a tornado that was coming towards us! Needless to say, my Mom was not very happy). so I try not to do it so much to my family. Of course, talk to my family and they would tell it differently ;). What’s that saying: ‘those who mind don’t matter, those who matter don’t mind.’ So i say, keep on taking picture, you will know when it becomes to much for your friends and family. -Kim

      02.02.2011 at 7:47 am

      • risewiththesun

        Thanks Kim! I’m always wondering what it’s like for others taking photos with company! :)

        02.02.2011 at 10:21 pm

  4. I too, really like the first photo. Love how the bridge (well, for that matter, how everything) fades into the fog. Great job.

    02.02.2011 at 7:44 am

  5. Last week in our fog I wished I could have stayed out taking pictures all morning. Every direction I looked I saw something more interesting to take pictures.

    Loved your photos especially the one with the gentle waves in the foreground. Peaceful!

    02.02.2011 at 9:57 pm

    • Fog is amazing, I would have stayed out longer also, but everything was getting wet- mainly because of the fog being so strong at the waters edge. I can’t wait to go back, a bit more prepared next time. thanks for commenting, -Kim

      02.04.2011 at 11:42 am

Leave a Reply

