moments in focus…

The Great Blue Heron

Blue Heron

 

If I could be an animal (I know, it’s one of those 6th grade questions you might talk about at lunch), I would be a bird.  The way birds catch the wind is always amazing to me, besides it looks like fun.  Not sure what type of bird, one that eats seeds, nuts and grass only. :)

I realize this is not the best picture of a Great Blue Heron, but it is the best I captured.  These birds always take off when they see me coming, I know it’s not just me.  I have to get pretty close because my zoom lens (70-200) really is not long enough to be sneaky.

According to wikipedia, this is the largest North American heron, head-to-tail length is 36-55 inches (91-140cm), a wingspan of 66-79 (167-201 cm) inches, and a weight of 4-4.8 lbs (2-3.6 kg).

 

God gives every bird its food, but He does not throw it into its nest.”   J.G. Holland  (American Novelist; 1819-1881)

 

 

2 responses

  1. M.

    Great shot, love to see majestic birds in flight!

    01.22.2011 at 2:24 pm

Leave a Reply

