moments in focus…

where’s my macro ?!?

.

How many lenses can we carry?  It’s a kind of love/hate relationship, isn’t it? :)

Love: the possibilities, the accuracy, the DOP (depth of field)…

Hate: they are heavy, bulky, fragile…

Of course you can add to that list.  It seems that when I bring most of my lenses with me, I use only one… and you know what’s coming next…when I bring only one, well- where’s the one I need?  But, it’s ok.  It just means we have to think a bit more about the shot, and that can be a good thing.

13 responses

  1. Hello,
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I’ll have to agree with you on lenses. I personally like to master using ALL my lenses before carrying several lenses with me and using them interchangeably.

    01.14.2011 at 10:59 am

    • Hi Armen, it is amazing how each lens is different. I do need to spend time with them individually- good point. -Kim

      01.14.2011 at 6:02 pm

  2. Sarah Elizabeth

    Totally agree. I’ve been looking at getting a macro soon, but 1) they’re about the same price as my camera itself, 2) they’re heavy, and 3) they’re almost too fragile for my current lifestyle. As of right now, I just have one lens, and for the most part, it’s working for the time being. However, as my parents poke fun at me, “I wanna get down in the dirt and take photos of the ants.” Har har, Mom. (She’s just jealous.)

    01.14.2011 at 2:13 pm

    • Your pictures are great on your blog, but a macro is nice to have- especially for those ants. :) -Kim

      01.14.2011 at 6:03 pm

  3. I would love to get a macro lens, along with all the other lenses I want. (it never seems to end, does it?) Since that’s not really going to happen, I try to make do with the lenses that I do have and wistfully think of all the nice lenses that would be great to have. :P

    I found out in one of my previous photography courses that I can use my 70-300mm lens as a psuedo macro lens – you just have to stand really far away!

    01.14.2011 at 9:38 pm

    • I use my long lens also sometimes, I can accomplish good shallow depth of field that way (which I love). thanks for reading & commenting. -Kim

      01.16.2011 at 8:44 pm

  4. I was thinking of purchasing a macro lens but haven’t yet. I enjoyed looking at your photographs.

    01.15.2011 at 6:58 am

    • thank you :) Lenses are always fun to have, but so costly :( . I am need of a good portrait lens, one of these days…. -Kim

      01.16.2011 at 8:46 pm

  5. This is fantastic!

    01.16.2011 at 2:09 pm

  6. Hey Kim–

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. Have you checked out Sigma lenses? Heavy duty, high quality, and much more economical than Nikon or Canon.

    I usually only take one or two lenses out when I just go out for fun. When it’s for business, the bag is packed to the brim.

    01.16.2011 at 3:03 pm

    • I had a sigma for my film Canon years ago, it was great. I will look into that (when the time comes). thanks Matthew. -Kim

      01.16.2011 at 8:47 pm

  7. I just upgraded to a DSLR (Nikon d3000) and right now I only have the lens it came with. I’ve already had many moments where I wish I had another lens, since I find myself focusing on details. I can’t wait until I can afford more lenses. Btw I love your photos.

    01.29.2011 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

