moments in focus…

TrYinG SoMeThinG NeW

My favorite quote (for the moment) is:

If you want something you’ve never had, you must be willing to do something you’ve never done.
Thomas Jefferson

Hence the very photoshopped image.  Sometimes, for me anyway, we are concerned about how our images will be perceived by others.  If that concern stops us from expressing what we want, then it can be bad.  After all, life is about opinions, not right or wrong.  We all have likes and dislikes. You may not like mine and I may not like yours, does it mean you are wrong? I am right? I am wrong? You are right? No, it just means we are different.

With that said, I happen to like the PS effect on the image above.  Did I hesitate to ‘blog’ it?  I did, but i hope that hesitation will go away with time and confidence.

Here’s the funny part, I want to ask now – what do you think? Do you like the image?  I guess what I am asking for is you opinion.  The answers are not received as offending, only as critiquing.

14 responses

  1. bek

    I do like it! It’s unique which makes it special. As one who aspires to create art with my photography, I have absolutely no problem with photoshop work like this. What matters more than anything though…do *you* like it? It’s *your* art and it should please *you*. Some will like it, some won’t, and like you said…that’s okay. I hope you post more. =)

    And thanks for stopping by my place. =)

    01.10.2011 at 10:48 pm

    • thanks for your comments, and ‘yes’ I do like it- hope to post more.-Kim

      01.12.2011 at 11:20 am

  2. Karen CREVELING

    I love photoshop – it’s another medium of expression. I like the colors and graininess and the mystery of footprints going somewhere.

    01.11.2011 at 11:23 am

    • thanks Karen, that is a good way to look at it- another form of expression. -Kim

      01.12.2011 at 11:20 am

  3. I don’t have a problem with PS at all. You can make art however you want. I think this actually looks more like a painting than a photo. I love the rust colors and the little footprints running down the middle.

    01.12.2011 at 12:48 am

  4. Hi Jolene, between you and Karen’s comments I think I have a new way of looking at PS- a different form of expression and creating art. thanks, Kim

    01.12.2011 at 11:22 am

  5. I like it, even if im not into things and patters, i use images like that (unedited) simply for textures, I find the whole composition, colors and editing very artistic.

    And thank you for quote :)

    01.13.2011 at 7:32 pm

    • I do like the quote, makes you think. Great suggestion, to use it as a background. thanks, Kim

      01.14.2011 at 9:48 am

  6. Very cool. It looks kind of like a film negative.

    01.13.2011 at 7:39 pm

  7. i like it! its really making me stop and think. looks like a beach – i think i see the tide. but i can’t decide what that bar is right through the middle. i get a sense of looking down. good grungy effects too and the psychedelic colors. Its nice when something makes your audience take a little more time, good work. And the slide frame is a great touch too!

    01.14.2011 at 9:35 am

    • I use a program called OnOne Frames, I first framed the center of the photo (bird prints in the sand) and made that section black and white, next I framed the entire picture and then just messed around with PS. I am glad you like it. -Kim

      01.14.2011 at 10:04 am

  8. Mike

    Kind of reminds me of an old barbaric shield of some sort. I like it! I see many uses for it!

    01.14.2011 at 4:39 pm

    • Thanks Mike, it’s interesting that people see so many different things in this image and uses for it. -Kim

      01.14.2011 at 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

