moments in focus…

flash use: please advise :)

 

.

Practice, practice, practice… that is what I need to do.  Practice what you ask?  Using a flash.  The flash is a mysterious and misunderstood electronic apparatus, to me.  It must be the engineer in me, I want to know exactly how it works, I want to understand how the settings affect different settings, about distance, about ttl, ittl, +/- (actually this one I understand)… you get the idea.  I can use it, but I don’t really know what I am doing, sad, isn’t it. If anyone has any advice, input, suggestions, workshops, books…anything that might help- bring it on!

I did ask a fellow blogger for advice after viewing her images, that is what led to the image above.

3 responses

  1. Brian Cooney

    Hey Kim
    Thanks for the kind compliment on my blog post yesterday. For flash photography I think David Hobby’s blog Strobist.com is awesome.

    01.06.2011 at 2:40 pm

  2. I like to use a tripod, change my ISO (nothing above 800, however) and use only available light. I have not mastered the flash yet, and I do also subscribe to The Strobist, but I like the look of available light.

    Sorry I’m little help, but I like your photo.

    01.13.2011 at 9:41 pm

    • any words help- really. thanks. I also set my ISO high, sometime to high. I hope to take a class on lighting one of these days. Glad you like the picture. -Kim

      01.14.2011 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

