moments in focus…

“The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera.” -Dorothea Lange

 

Louisville, Ky: First let me say I had no idea it was such an artsy town.  It was such an enjoyable stay, despite the highs in the 20s and lows in the teens (which I actually enjoyed, quite the change from the gulf’s heat in Texas)… oh, and it did snow 2 days out of the 5.  My husband and I stayed downtown at 21C Museum Hotel (which I highly recommend).  As the name implies, it is also a Museum.

The image above was taken as I walked the downtown streets (off Main to be exact).  Amidst the old architecture was this modern (not completely modern) glass building.  As people passed by on the street, going about their daily routines, I was taking pictures of the world around me.  I am guilty of passing by life also, but I do have to agree with Ms. Lange’s quote above, being a photographer is a gift, it makes us pause.  Sure, we pause to consider the technical side of the photo, but when we pause we see so much more.  This ‘pause’ is then carried over to those days when we don’t have our cameras.  Well, that is just my opinion.

Below is information about Dorothy Lange, the image I included is one that you will probably recognize.

Dorothea Lange (May 26, 1895 – October 11, 1965) was an influential American documentary photographer and photojournalist, best known for her Depression-era work for the Farm Security Administration (FSA). Lange’s photographs humanized the tragic consequences of the Great Depression and profoundly influenced the development of documentary photography.

migmoth.jpg (49483 bytes)
Dorothea Lange’s “Migrant Mother,” destitute in a pea picker’s camp, because of the failure of the early pea crop. These people had just sold their tent in order to buy food. Most of the 2,500 people in this camp were destitute. By the end of the decade there were still 4 million migrants on the road.

3 responses

  1. I love this building picture; I took a similar one with an old AE-1 back when I shot black and white film. Thanks for checking out my blog too! Unfortunately for that particular post WordPress did a number on my pictures and wiped them down with a whole lot of grey. Any idea why this might be/how to fix it?

    12.12.2010 at 8:53 am

    • I managed to figure it out. Using Lightroom to export my RAW files, I had used ProPhoto RGB for my color set instead of 8-bit sRGB, so everything is coming out washed. Again, thanks for your comments!

      What are you shooting with?

      12.12.2010 at 11:33 am

      • I have a Nikon D300 and a D3, I actually usually use the D300 (as with this shot). I find the D3 is a bit bulky to carry around (sad, isn’t it). The lens I used was a 24-120 / 3.5

        12.12.2010 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

