moments in focus…

Round 2 (or so)

I can’t believe it has been a month (give or take a few days) since my last post.  Why so long?  First of all that is a question I have been asking myself, not one I think you are asking me :).  A standard answer would be “oh, you know, life gets in the way”.  BUT, is that really why? Most likely not.  I could say ‘it’, being the time between posts, began to lengthen because my days just got busy, but it’s really because my faithful friend,  good old ‘lack of vision’,  crept back into my life.  With that said, below are a few shots from the past month.

And one more thing, round 2 (or is it round 3, or round 4, or round 61…you get my point) begins today ;)

.

This was taken from the car (I know) on our way home from Austin, around Columbus on HWY 71. We took two trips there this month, once we stayed in town on the river and the other trip was spent on the lake.  Great weather both times.

.

Town Lake has a wonderful walking path around it, it can become a bit busy in the morning, but worth it.  This picture is the underbelly of the Congress Bridge.  I use the term underbelly because it is a bit, well, smelly.  Bats, bats and more bats make it so. Here is what austincityguide.com has to say (notice there is not mention of the oder below the bridge, but then when you view them I don’t think that is where you would want to be):

“The Congress Avenue Bridge spans Town Lake in downtown Austin and is home to the largest urban bat colony in North America.  The colony is estimated at 1.5 million Mexican free-tail bats.   Each night from mid-March to November, the bats emerge from under the bridge at dusk to blanket the sky as they head out to forage for food.  This event has become one of the most spectacular and unusual tourist attractions in Texas.  The most spectacular bat flights are during hot, dry August nights, when multiple columns of bats emerge.”

.

From our hotel window.  This show was fun to create, I set my camera up on a chair and used the timer. I love the colors of the tail lights as the cars pass over Town Lake on Congress Avenue.

.

If you haven’t noticed from previous images, I love a shallow depth of field.  This fence was on the side of the road (on our way to Austin), we actually stopped because of a wood pile, but this is the image I like best.

.

It’s nice to be back (on WP), I have missed visiting your blogs- I’m looking forward to catching up!        -Kim

9 responses

  1. Well the most important thing is not the quantity, but more the quality, and you’ve certainly made the most of the past month… Stunning shots… Did you see the bats ???…

    11.28.2010 at 4:10 pm

    • Thanks for the nice comment, quality is much better than quantity.

      We missed the bats on this trip, but I have seen them before. It is amazing that so many live in the bridge.

      11.28.2010 at 7:45 pm

  2. Karen CREVELING

    Glad you’re back. I’ve missed your photos and posts and you at BC!

    11.29.2010 at 10:02 am

  3. I agree with the comment of quality over quantity. I’m glad you’re back – you always have the most lovely photos, and I can’t wait to see what you are inspired with this round! :)

    12.05.2010 at 11:54 pm

  4. It’s nice to be back. I hope you enjoy the new posts. :)

    12.09.2010 at 8:45 am

  5. have been really enjoying looking through your photos. the two landscape shots on this post are so good. beautiful :)

    01.14.2011 at 10:41 am

  6. really nice sunset photo ;)

    01.18.2011 at 6:38 am

    • thanks for the comment about the sunset. I checked out your blog, nice images. -Kim

      01.19.2011 at 6:56 pm

Leave a Reply

