moments in focus…

Vision: (noun) imagination, creativity, inventiveness, innovation, inspiration, intuition, perception, insight, foresight, prescience.

Perhaps lack of vision would be a better tittle for this post.

When I looked up from reading (a photography book) I noticed the Blue Salvia in the garden, the light was nice as the sun was going down this evening so I picked up my camera and took a few shots.  I do like the way it turned out, especially the blur of the background flowers.  But (yep, you knew it was coming) it is not very inspiring, it doesn’t speak to me.  I love images that have meaning, that speak to me… right now my images are silent.  How do I find vision?

What is my plan?  First of all, I’m not sure ‘vision’ can be found, but I am sure going to try!  I have been reading books, looking at blogs, taking a few photos, and reading some articles about photographers.  I think the key is to take more photos. I need to spend time thinking about the image I want to capture, what I want it to say, how I am feeling, what I see… (I, I , I, can I get more self-centered?)  Once during a workshop the first step was to write down ideas (just think about possible shots), then go back and take the shots.  This is will be my first step.  Next I will give myself a lesson each week.

On a positive note :) a cool front is coming this Sunday, low of 67 and a high of 86.  It will be a great day for taking pictures!

8 responses

  1. Beautiful focus!

    And a great post. I enjoyed reading it.

    09.23.2010 at 11:01 pm

    • Thanks Matt, I am glad you enjoyed reading the post. Your website is inspiriting, I love your perspective.

      09.24.2010 at 7:29 am

  2. I think we’ve all been there on the inspiration thing… I’ve just had a weeks holiday, and struggled to get inspired to shoot anything, and wasn’t particularly enamoured with what I did shoot… I do like the focus in this shot though..

    09.26.2010 at 4:07 am

  3. Sounds like you have a good plan. I find when I am lacking focus or vision, I just pick a place, go there, and start taking pictures. Oftentimes, something will jump out at me and I will see and old thing in a new way.

    This shot is beautiful – in addition to the blur, I like the way the colors compliment each other. It’s very calming.

    09.26.2010 at 7:27 pm

  4. Right now I’m spending time reading photography books. I found two books that are addressing my needs/issues/desires. The fact that I don’t have a DSLR at the moment is enforcing my shooting sabbatical. I find the pause, along with the reading is helping me clear my mind, process the material and open up for what’s coming next.

    I think it’s all a part of the creative process. You learn, you grow, you hit a brick wall. Then you pick yourself up and start again. Hitting the brick wall is not fun and less hardy souls often get discouraged and either quit or relegate their photography to snapshots. But those of us who are hooked will just keep coming back for more.

    09.30.2010 at 3:21 pm

  5. Thanks everyone for you comments/thoughts. I had one day this week to take pictures, and it was a good day. I have not had time to update but will soon, I was pleased with my day and am hoping for another one tomorrow. -KH

    09.30.2010 at 7:30 pm

  6. You might likewise take into account joining food cooking
    courses. How can you quickly discover the recipes that are perfect and right for your family.
    Do read the ratings to see which recipes taste best and suits your needs.

    01.08.2015 at 4:38 pm

  7. cara mengobati keputihan dengan daun sirih

    Inexperienced Tea: Its antioxidants may intervene
    with the expansion of bladder, breast, lung, stomach, pancreatic, and colorectal cancers.

    07.06.2015 at 8:03 am

Leave a Reply

