moments in focus…

Not so ordinary anymore!?

I guess you could call this photo out of my comfort zone. Why?  Because, when I look at sidewalk, I am not inspired to take a photo of it. To me, there are certain objects/subjects/things that require more creativity on the part of the photographer than others to photograph.

My camera is becoming attached to me, I am trying to take it everywhere- even on my bike rides, I have a basket on my bike just for it!  Anyway, I have found that just because I want to take photos doesn’t mean there is always something that I see to photograph.  I am trying to stretch myself into seeing more.  I have to admit this sidewalk photo was pretty ordinary in color, but after playing with it in black and white it seems to have a bit of character, not so ordinary anymore.  Well, that’s what I’d like to believe anyway!  :)

To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.’ -Elliot Erwitt
3 responses

  1. I really like the results you’re getting outside the comfort zone. Keep it up!

    09.01.2010 at 3:31 pm

    • Thanks Paul, I’m trying. It must be the teacher in me, I like giving myself a ‘lesson’ to complete, it helps me get our of my comfort zone.

      09.01.2010 at 9:03 pm

  2. That’s an awesome thing to do. I try to take my camera with me everywhere. But to take pictures of the ordinary and make it extraordinary is something to keep trying.

    09.06.2010 at 5:25 pm

Leave a Reply

