moments in focus…

one sunrise, thirty-two pelicans

Twenty minutes from the beach, that’s not very far at all.  Well, that’s what I kept telling myself as I woke at 5:45 this morning, because let’s face it, at 5:45am everything seems far away except your nice comfy bed.

Once out of bed, camera bag and tri-pod in hand, my only thought was ‘coffee’, after all I had a 20 minute drive.  Then I looked at the time, coffee would have to wait.

I arrived at the beach to find a few people camping,  a few people fishing, and a few people walking.  I set up my tri-pod and started shooting.  It is always amazing to me how quickly the sky can change, I was constantly adjusting the shutter speed and f-stop.  The image above was taken into the sun, shortly after the image below was taken.

It was an amazing sight, 32 pelicans safely gliding over the gulf.

2 responses

  1. Lindsey

    I love these! You take great photos, Kim.

    08.30.2010 at 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

