moments in focus…

iPhoneographs

Imaging software is fun to use, but sometimes I do feel like it is cheating.  I grew up using 35mm film and what you shot is what you got.  Today there are so many options out there, it’s hard for me to take that leap and alter, but I do sometimes.  There are so many edited/altered images that are amazing, it is does inspire me to try.

Somehow when I use my iPhone I don’t feel like I am cheating!  Each of these photos would be very boring without the adjustments.

4 responses

  1. Modern day software does make image editing more readily available to us mere mortals, but I’d not really consider it cheating myself, as some of the things that were edited in the dark rooms of the day are pretty amazing, and just a precursor to the editing that is available to us all these days… Take HDR for example.. The film purists seem to hate it, but it’s origins date back to the 1850’s, when differently exposed images were spliced together in dark rooms… You DO have to love modern technology though… :)

    08.11.2010 at 4:09 pm

  2. You are correct Brian, it’s been around a long time. After all, I even took a darkroom class in college and helped my Dad in his on occasion, so yes, we have been ‘cheating’ for a long time. I guess ‘cheating’ is too strong a word to use. I read your post ‘1850’ and do agree that altering to a degree is ok, I also agree that sometime it does seem a bit over used and unnatural, but I guess that is the intent sometimes (such as my Avitar).
    I am sure I will keep ‘cheating’, no – ‘fine-tuning’ my images when necessary. ‘Fine-tuning’, now that I like 1 :)

    thanks for the thoughts on modern day technology, which isn’t actually that modern of a process after all.

    08.11.2010 at 9:41 pm

  3. Karen CREVELING

    Kim, saw this post on CoolHunting today and thought of your recent post about editing software. http://www.coolhunting.com/culture/lillian-bassman.php

    08.12.2010 at 9:44 am

  4. inancy

    Your images are so very vibrant. I love your play with colors and focus. I too enjoy doing cell phone photography. I’ve been using Photogene.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. Your’s is wonderful.

    08.27.2010 at 12:07 am

Leave a Reply

